The moment you understand how to perform first aid in Cheshire and Liverpool; you will have gained the ability to save those in need. This is the main reason people need to know more about first aid courses. Through these courses, you will get to learn how to respond to specific situations. This means that you will learn how to take care of those in crisis, as you wait for medical professionals to arrive.

There is no way to emphasise the benefits of learning first aid, especially in working environments. First aid will not only help your colleague but give them the best opportunity for a positive outcome; as well as giving you the opportunity to save someone’s life.

What Is First Aid?

First aid is a very popular name known to many, and across the world. It generally means first help. Because of the way language is evolving, first aid has different names. For example, in the states, first aid is referred to as CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation). However, if you mention the name First Aid to anyone even those living in the U.S. will understand what you mean.

First aid can be defined as emergency procedures performed when someone needs help or face life-threatening situations. The aim of first aid is to keep someone breathing until emergency personnel or medical professionals arrive and take over. Chest compressions are the most popular form of first aid, which can be done even by those who are not trained in first aid.

It is important to know that if the brain is starved of oxygen for more than 4 minutes; just like the way it happens in heart attack or near-drowning; permanent brain may result. As such, immediate action is needed as every second’s count.

The task of a Cheshire or Liverpool first aider is to offer CPR help until the patient can breathe without help or until professional medics take over. When it comes to saving lives, it does not count if you are CPR literate or not, it is always better to try.

However, with a good first aid course, you may learn to offer:

  • Heatstroke first aid
  • Recovery situations such as choking
  • Dealing with emergencies such as drowning or burns
  • Sunburns and more.

About First Aid Courses

First aid course is important no matter the kind of training (health and safety training or learning for everyday life) you are looking for. Our first course in Cheshire and first aid course in Liverpool are generally divided into two groups, the public (general first aid) and Workplace first aid (professional and geared towards a specific environment).

1. Public (General) First Aid Courses

This is a kind of first aid course that involves daily life situations. Under this type of training, you will learn to deal with situations such as chocking, cuts, and even burns. Parents also learn how to perform first aid to their kids and babies. It is important to note that, first aid course for babies is different from that o an adult. This is because the way you handle an adult is not the same way you will handle a child.

2. Workplace First Aid Courses

This kind of training is a bit professional and advanced and often geared towards a specific work environment. In other words, the training helps people working in a specific environment. The truth is that some working environments in Cheshire and Liverpool are highly risky compared to others, and according to rules and regulations, businesses are needed to meet health and safety regulations. For this reason, the workplace first aid training courses can be divided into two categories:

  • Low-Risk Workplace Training Courses
  • High-Risk Workplace Training Courses

Both training courses apply in different work settings. For example, if you work in a restaurant, your workplace training course will generally involve choking, cuts, burns, and even fire. A professional baby care service provider will learn paediatric first aid. This means the training will generally revolve around babies and children first aid.

A person in an office pushing paper does not necessarily need to learn emergency first aid techniques because the work environment is not a high-risk workplace.

First Aid At Work Training Course

First aid at work training courses generally involves a complete set of skills needed by first aiders in a majority of workplaces. The training may involve high and low-risk workplace training courses, that provide both the knowledge and skills to deal with certain emergencies. The first aid meets the standards needed that will help comply with health and safety regulations.

Who Should Attend And What Will They Learn?

This is a course designed for anyone looking to learn first aid. The training usually will cover the following:

  • Head injuries
  • Managing emergency situations
  • Asthma poisoning
  • Bleeding
  • Resuscitations
  • Joint, muscle, and bone injuries
  • Burns
  • Allergic reaction
  • Shock
  • Chocking
  • Eye injuries
  • Fainting and much more

Often this training course may take up to three days to qualify. A majority of first aid service providers offer refresher causes every year for free.

Course Assessment

Of course, there is an assessment test one needs to pass to be certified. Often, this is done using continuous observation by the trainer and it also includes a written assessment.

After the assessment, the candidates are certified. However, it is important to go for a well-known certification. What does this mean? Well, it simply means that the service provider must be a well-known institution. It is wise to get certified by an institution like St. John Ambulance.

Emergency First Aid At Work Training Course

Emergency first aids are one-day courses that help a person meet the regulatory requirements of a high-risk workplace assessment, which indicate that first aid training should cover emergency protocols.

Who Should Attend And What Will They Learn?

This kind of training has been designed for those looking to receive emergency first aid. It is especially the best for those who have been nominated to be the first aider in a smaller working environment. with this kind of training, the trainee will get to learn basic lifesaving first aid and workplace health and safety regulations that cover the following:

  • Managing emergency situations
  • CPR for adults
  • Seizures
  • Shock
  • Bleeding
  • Casualty care
  • Burns chocking and much more

Course Assessment

Assessments are obtained through continues observation and written assessments by the trainer. Trainees or candidates need basic English communication knowledge. This is often defined as level 2. Successful candidates should receive be certified by a well-known institution like St. John Ambulance. Often, the certificate is valid for three years.